Baseball and Softball: Bluegrass honors bestowed


The O-M Bulldogs placed three players on the all-conference first team, two more on the second team and also had one on the honorable mention list.

Dylan Nichols, Jackson Mikkelsen and Jesse Johnson were first team picks, while Triston Davidson and Keaton Eslinger were second team picks. Joey Huntington was named to the honorable mention list.

Nichols led the Bulldogs with a batting average of .492 this season. He had 30 hits, including 13 doubles, 17 runs batted in and 31 stolen bases.

Mikkelsen batted .438 this season with 35 hits, 19 RBIS and 30 stolen bases.

Johnson batted .357 with 20 hits.

First team:

Pitchers- Tracy Embry, Twin Cedars; Kenny Boles, Murray; Martin Varese, Moravia. Catchers- Jackson Mikkelsen, O-M; Jake Martin, Moravia.

Infielders- Tucker Babbit, Moravia; Horton, Mormon Trail; Dylan Nichols, O-M; Josh Dueker, ICA.

Outfielders- Marty Beary, Twin Cedars; Jesse Johnson, O-M; Case Hitt, Mormon Trail; Avery Waybill, Moravia.

Utility- Nick Haselhuhn, Twin Cedars.

Second team:

Pitcher- Paul Karpen, Melcher-Dallas.

Catchers- James Evans, Mormon Trail; Logan Mitchell, Moulton-Udell.

Infielders- Ethan Harrington, Melcher-Dallas; Bryce Keller, Murray; Keaton Eslinger, O-M.

Outfielders- Dalton Lovell, Melcher-Dallas; Triston Davidson, O-M; Parker Hitt, Mormon Trail; Nick Martin, Moravia.

Utility- Skyler Smith, Moravia.

Honorable mention- Alex Cloyed, Moravia; Dalton Probasco, Moulton-Udell; Luke Lehman, ICA; Sam Houston, Melcher-Dallas; Colton Spauer, Twin Cedars; Seth Shannon, Murray; Joey Huntington, O-M; Travis Pollock, Mormon Trail; Chase Potter, Lamoni.



Eighth grader Kaela Eslinger of O-M was named to the honorable mention list. Eslinger batted .386 this past season and pitched every game, as the Bulldogs improved from no wins in 2015 to four wins in 2016.

First team:

Pitchers- Autumn McDanel, Moravia; Kayla Wookey, Murray.

Catchers- Brandi Gilbert, Murray; Riley Jewett, Seymour.

Infielders- Madison Gonseth, Murray; Sierra Tarbell, Grandview Christian; Sami Meally, Grandview Christian; Bailey Dunkin, Twin Cedars; Addison Westercamp, Moulton-Udell.

Outfielders- Hailey Chew, Murray; Kendra Clark, Grandview Christian; Andee Clark, Melcher-Dallas; Madison DeWitt, Twin Cedars.

Utility- Breianna Klein, Murray.

Second team:

Pitchers- Ali Enright, Seymour; Emillie Karpen, Melcher- Dallas.

Catchers- Shayla Martching, Moulton-Udell; Marisa Lundy, Twin Cedars.

Infielders- Cheyenne Maddy, Moravia; Demi White, Seymour; Emma McDanel, Moravia; Gracie Hitt, Mormon Trail; Ashtin Glenn, Seymour.

Outfielders- Katie Otto, Murray; Kaylee Parmer, Mormon Trail; Jessie Simons, Moulton-Udell; Mack Fry, Grandview Christian.

Utility- Meghan Gould, Murray.

Honorable mention- Eslinger, O-M; Kaitlynn Leer, Moulton-Udell; Peyton Rogers, Moravia; Sydney Sunken, Melcher-Dallas; Nadia Howell, Seymour; Cheyenne Williams, Mormon Trail; Hannah Bennett, Twin Cedars; Emma Seyler, Grandview Christian.


News Letter Journal

News Letter Journal
14 W. Main St.
P.O. Box 40
Newcastle, WY 82701
PH: (307) 746-2777
Fax: (307) 746-2660

Email Us


The Fontanelle Observer

The Fontanelle Observer
313 5th St.,
Fontanelle, IA 50846

Email Us


Please Login for Premium Content